Welcome to my first (of hopefully many) blog posts! In order to get to know me, I asked for some questions about anything and everything on my instagram stories - I've sorted them into categories for easy reading(?).

How old are you?
I'm 20, I'll be 21 in March!

Where are you from?
I was (confusingly) born in Taunton, Somerset, have lived in London and Essex, but I grew up in South Lincolnshire, and still live there with my family, and I study in Durham!

What tattoos & piercings do you have?
I have 6 tattoos and 4 piercings. My tattoos aren't very exciting and are mostly floral pieces, and none of them actually mean anything special or significant to me. Piercings wise, I have my nose, right helix, lobes and seconds pierced.

Favourite films/ tv shows?
Right now, my favourite TV shows are Atypical and The Good Place on Netflix, and my all time favourites are probably Grey's Anatomy, Mindhunter and Jane the Virgin. I'm not generally a film person, but my favourites are probably The Breakfast Club, Girl, Interrupted and Lost in Translation.

What kind of music do you listen to?
I generally listen to anything, but my favourite artists at the moment are Glass Animals, Hozier, Two Door Cinema Club, The Smiths and Clueless Kit.

What and where do you study?
I'm in my first year studying Psychology at the University of Durham.

What's your favourite thing about university?
This year, my favourite thing is definitely being able to live with my best friends, and the general feeling of independence you gain at uni. My parents have always been very chilled out about things in general, but being able to do what you want when you want (i.e. eat toast at 3am) is really fun, and I strangely enjoy shopping/ cooking for myself too.

Any tips on applying for psychology?
I actually went down a very non-conventional route to studying Psychology - I completed a year of studying Biology at Durham before changing courses (I'll do a separate post on this) and then internally transferred within the uni to study Psychology. It's been 2.5 years since I actually applied to uni, but my general advice would be pick the right uni for you, and be realistic about the distance you want to be from home, and to be authentic with your personal statement. I found that the uni's I applied were interested in me, my previous work/ volunteering and hobbies and what I could bring to the uni than, as well as my grades. Since Psychology degrees are fairly broad, you generally don't need to worry about specialising whilst doing undergraduate study.

What's your student house like?
I actually don't live in a student house - I chose to live in college based student accommodation with my friends this year because when house hunting, we found that the houses in Durham aren't fantastic quality, for what seems like a lot of rent money.

What's Durham like?
Not sure whether this is a question about the city or the university, so I'll just answer both aspects! The city itself is beautiful, with lots of very old and lovely buildings and bridges. For me, it's the perfect compromise for nature and greenery with the obvious practicalities of being a city. The nightlife isn't fantastic, but that's not really why I chose to come to uni. My experience with the uni so far has been great, I think the collegiate system works really well here and the support within colleges has been really easy to access for me. I love my course, and I think the lecturing quality and content is really great and interesting.

(you can find my instagram here if you don't already follow me)

What made you want to become a blogger?
I wouldn't classify myself as a 'blogger' necessarily, but I started my blog as a place to ramble about things in the hope that someone else feels the same way/ enjoys reading my weird rambles. I'm passionate about quite a lot of things, and this seems like a good way to combine them.

When did you start your instagram?
I started my instagram in 2013(?) and was really into it for a couple of years (the weird flatlay and heavy filtering days) but it took a backseat during my GCSEs and A-Levels, but I started being active and putting time into it just before I came to uni in 2018.

How long have you been vegan? Why are you vegan?
I've been vegan 8 months now (since March 2019), and before that I was vegetarian for just over a year. I went vegetarian because of the animal rights and environmental aspects, and then in March I decided to take the plunge to become vegan after watching Madeleine Olivia's youtube videos and realising that being vegan was much easier than people make it out to be. I'm lactose intolerant anyway, so cutting out the dairy from my diet was fairly easy as I'd been drinking soya milk for a couple of years. If you're thinking about going vegetarian or vegan, I'd definitely recommend Madeleine Olivia's videos as a starting point, or documentaries such as The Game Changers or Cowspiracy.

What do you eat?
I feel like I get as this a lot as a vegan and a student, and I generally have no clue how to answer it! I eat what most people eat; a lot of pasta and toast. My go-to meals for cooking dinner at uni are pasta bakes, curries, stir fry's or if I'm feeling extra lazy, chips (with gravy, obviously). For lunch I normally eat a sandwich/ bagel of some kind with hummus and salad or vegan ham/ chicken, and yoghurts or biscuits or cakes or fruit or something snacky. I'm generally not a breakfast person, but if I'm particularly hungry before work or a lecture I'll generally go for banana and peanut butter on toast or a naked bar.

That's it for this Q&A, I hope you enjoyed reading it and learnt a little about me! It would be great to get to know all of you, so leave a fact about yourself in the comment section! Since this is my first blog post, also let me know in the comments if there's anything you'd like to read.

All my love,

Em x

Instagram | Twitter